Dragon Iron Man Mk VII Part 6 (Updated)


Well this seems to be the build that feels like I’m never going to get done as there always seems to be things I forgotten about.  More on that below.

Anyway, finally got around to getting the top half of Iron Man painted and spent a little time painting in the silver and gold parts.  If you’ve seen previous posts you may recall that I didn’t really like the gold colour that I used, so I’ve overpainted it with a different one which is less brassy.  Tones it down a bit.

Iron Man
Iron Man

Iron Man
Iron Man

A quick check to see if the lights still work:

Iron Man
Iron Man

As I assume that JJ Abrams will at some point direct a Marvel film the lens flare is a little pre-visualisation of what it’s going to look like.

And now for the problems.  Having thought I was pretty much done I spot a handful of parts in the bottom of the box.  One set is the obvious things I had forgotten which is the knee covers but there is also a chest piece which had completely forgotten about.  So need to get these primed and painted ASAP and onto the kit.

Final thing for tonight was to insert a print out of the ARC reactor.  This is in place in the picture above and when the light is on it shines straight through it.  It also tones the light down a bit and I’m going to add something like this to the hands and eyes as well, which will also help diffuse the light.

Iron Man
Iron Man

I am now slightly torn as to whether to leave him in “new” condition or do what I originally planned and bash him up.  I’m thinking at the moment to leave him alone.

Update:

Basically now done.  The last few pieces have been attached and the clear parts put in.  I picked out the panel lines with some wash just to give some contrast.

Iron Man
Iron Man
Iron Man
Iron Man

There is a double layer of paper now on the chest piece and with the LED on behind it the ARC reactor is now visible (it’s just that the camera can’t pick it up).

Iron Man
Iron Man

So now onto finish of Thor and Captain America.

One thought on “Dragon Iron Man Mk VII Part 6 (Updated)”

Leave a Reply

